Like We Need An Extra Verse

It comes from afar
I don’t know where it comes from
Inside I mean from music and me
interacting, it’s a chemical reaction
the words on a page like fire
from one word to the next
to the conflagration
when I start again or give up trying.

Don’t ruin it my adding more! Like we
need an extra verse. Some annoying lyrics
to parse while we move to the music inside.
________________mmm,mmmm,mmmm,
mmm, don’t add an extra verse.

Well, I said I wouldn’t after the first. Now comes that extra verse.

Words in my head
something rhymes with bed
something to get into
with yours truly its
a chemical romance
you have heard before
but , it’s worth repeating
but, it’s worth repeating
more-more-more.

©2017 Andrew Watkins

Leave a Reply

