No Swimming

‘Avast!’ said the cad.
All the frogs bad.
Leaving behind a thing of beauty
A splendiferous pond
bleeding and crying out
‘I LOVE YOUUU.’
A bubble floats to the surface and pops.
I drop my drink
it falls until it stops. it bounces on its end tumbling like my heart. Then you smile. A Koi Carp.
Start?
And with sunlight reflecting in your eyes I see the curve of you lengthwise
and your slender pass and m y eyes are drawn to your huge embankments
and I cannot breathe or make a sound.
‘It’s time you got your fingers wet, pet’
I crumble reaching my arm forwards
until I make contact.soon you are laughing.
And someone asks ‘HOW LONG HAS IT BEEN NOW SINCE YOUR WIFE DIED?’
I mutter a curse and find somewhere to cry.
I know you will haunt me till the day that I die.

©Andrew Watkins

Leave a Reply

