Lifeline

i got on the bus but that wasn’t my destination. I was heading out of town to the hunting grounds. I had my rifle and 50 rounds of .22 ammunition. I was going rabbit hunting.

It’s pretty good that you can still take live ammo onto public transport around here but that will probably change now after what happened.

Purple dots were appearing with alarming regularity on the skyline and I decided to take a pot shot at one. just to see what would happen. I didn’t want to start an intergalactic war you understand.

So then one of the purple dots flys closer and lands on the roof of the bus. We all gasped when it landed there with a clunk as its connected. I find what happened next disturbing.

An orange flame tinged with blue highlights cut a perfect circle in the roof of the bus and down floated on of them on the silver disc holding an oxy cutter and peering at us all from behind its glass helmet. Its eyes were so wide.

I did not expect what happened next. Never in a million years. Aliens Yes but this was sick.

Music floated down from the ship on the roof and we could all hear it like something from a rodeo machine gun wedding with big bass beats. Thump. Thump Thump.

Everybody was staring at it. It never blinked once but removed its lower garments revealing some tentacles that shot out and connected with everyone of the bus groins. Except me. It went for my gun and shot down the barrel as i was holding it in both hands.

Everyone began swaying is the best word for it and the music got louder and thump thump thump it continued. The alien took a cigar and lit it with the end of the acetylene torch and puffed away. Its stomach was clenching and unclenching in time with the music .

People began moaning as the aliens tentacles began pulsing like a hose in a cartoon and the bus stopped at the side of the road. I think the driver must have been connected to because he was just there in his seat folding his hands behind his head.

I couldn’t look or hear anything but the breathing and windows were all steamed up now and everyone was sort of jerking . The bass was massive by now and the whole bus was shaking and people’s hair was hanging in sweaty curls and then all the tentacles went rigid and the alien closed its eyes and everyone shouted their god’s name and fell to the floor in a heap. The alien took in its tentacles and replaced it’s under garments floated back up on its disc and then the purple blob flew off back towards the horizon.

That’s all I remember. I had my gun confiscated by the sheriff when we got to the hunting grounds as there were fifty holes in the roof of the bus that my parents would have to pay for.I don’t remember a thing about that.

The aliens were on the news again and tentacled the newsreaders while they were on air. It was funny.

 

Leave a Reply

