Holy Duck!

It’s time for me to do some writing. I don’t know what will come out of this but I intend to give it a go. My recent attempts at varying my output all seem to have fallen on deaf or dumbfounded ears while the standard of blogs I have been coming across has been very high. This is good for blogging as more people will be attracted to it.

Two worth checking out are IceCream Magazine and Tea and That.

So here I am sitting in my tin can, far away from trees. If I were in a forest I would take the opportunity to go hug a tree. There is nothing like the smell of the bark in your nostrils and the aroma of rotting vegetation at your feet to bring out the Ray Mears in me. Immediately I begin wondering where it is best to trap rabbits, where the stream is for a supply of cool fresh drinking water, where is the high ground good for a bivi site, where are landmarks for trekking onto. It’s all coming flooding back. I swear if I could do it all again I would do it wearing Gore-Tex.

Holy Duck! I am at 1647 of my 1800 calorie a day allowance and it’s only just past dinner time! There is nothing worse than trying to diet and learning along the way. Now I think about it NOT learning would be worse yet, but only just. Did you know that eating two Weetabix with skimmed milk at breakfast counts for 200 calories? That a single Rich Tea biscuit is alone 40 calories? And deserts? Don’t get me started on desserts. Except that I love them! One proper desert a week is what I am allowing myself. And I am adjusting the rest of my diet accordingly.

Chelsea hammered Man City in the FA Cup Sixth Round this afternoon. This was in part due to the fact that the match was unfair in that it was men against boys. The boys of Manuel Pelligrini’s Man City may be talented but they were no match for the depth and experience a Chelsea side even without the injured John Terry. That said the game was entertaining football and the majority of the goals were of a high quality. Man City certainly have some good youngsters coming through but it will be some time before they are ready to start games in the Premiership or in Europe where much of City’s ambitions lie this season.

Computer Gaming is not for nerds! Computer gaming is cool, relevant, entertaining, engrossing, demanding*…Today I purchased four computer games for the PC in the Assassin’s Creed series for ten pounds. This makes me quadruple happy! Now I have a half-decent monitor, keyboard, desk, and speakers but no computer. No computer? I hear you say? Well, I do have one suitable for browsing the internet in my study. I do have my laptop I am typing at now for general use but I do not have one for gaming on. There is a good reason for this. For one, I do not want to put all my eggs in one basket and buy a computer that is all singing all dancing. This is extremely expensive and doesn’t make good sense. Rather have a reasonable machine for everyday use, a cheap machine for the study and a basic one for gaming on. This does make sense both financially and practically. I have found an excellent supplier of second-hand computers HandyGeek where I got my browsing machine from and where I intend to purchase my gaming machine. Hopefully, gaming will be fun and if one machine breaks down, well, at least I’ll be able to make a quick swap-over so it won’t stop me doing everything else I do on computers or worst bored!

*from testimonials of friends and personal experience.

Other bloggers on WordPress continue to impress in poetry, song, photography, you-name-it there is probably a blog I follow containing it! See the community menu for other blogs I interact with – you won’t be disappointed.

I am currently watching TV on my laptop as I save for a new television. I think that I am going to have to go with an indoor ariel once I find out if it’s that that was causing the problem with my picture, or my TV set itself which was a ‘tube’ model and probably on the blink. I am looking for a model at least 24 inch, preferably 32 inch with a built in DVD. I even have space for it which in my flat is at something once found soon taken.

Well with so many things half finished (read my last few blogs also) I should take a pause and breathe once in a while. Before I go on again. Breathe.

Happy blogging! See you soon!

 

Leave a Reply

